Argument=Conversation

With my own research methods, I realized that the questions for entering the conversations are used in my planning of writing a persuasive piece. Another thing that I do that the article mentions is “considering the possible counterarguments to the claims writers make and the views that call your own ideas into question.” I try to do this because not only do I find that it keeps me interested in the topic but also that it prepares me for my own argument. It’s just like how an athlete in a game or a player in a chess match would anticipate another’s move in order to make their own. When a player is able to do this with ease this is a sign that they have become skilled or well versed in the material.

Reading as a search for information is mainly just a regurgitation of information, where as reading as inquiry you analyze deeper. As the article says you must “make judgments about which of the voices encountered can be used productively in conversation.” So the absence of critical thinking is what differentiates merely searching for facts with inquiry reading.

In other projects besides this inquiry I realize that I am extremely bias. I take my time to find only the facts that support my predisposed side while ignoring potential counterarguments. Another thing I need to be more cautious of is repetition. In many previous research projects, I have mainly been voicing the views of my sources with little to none of my own opinions. Many teachers prefer this but in my mind I am not really engaging in the material when I am merely stating another’s view point.

Framing is a way to point the conversation in a certain direction. Many problems in the real world have infinite reasons or causes behind them so instead of just stating an issue, you must create a structured plan on how to analyze. For example, when it comes to the US economy one can frame the question to how has the presidency affected this or how has international companies, or even how has the natural progression had influence on what will come next. These are all ways to look at one problem none right or wrong. This can help you steer the conversation into a certain field and sometimes can create subconscious feelings within the reader. News headlines use framing every minute. If you take the wording of CNN headlines in comparison with FOX news headlines on the day of Trump’s inauguration. We can see that they are using conotated words to create either animosity or appeal of their audiences toward a certain topic.

Leave a Reply

