Friendship

Sherry Turkle’s chapter on friendship has brought up many questions in my mind and lead me to analyze my own friendships more in depth. Since I was a child my parents withheld a lot of technology from me.  I got my first cellphone my Sophomore year in high school. This may contribute to the reasons why parts of this book are hard for me to connect with. However I can think of times where he statements are shockingly true. For example when she mentions friends talking online and in person while in the same room with each other I can think of many instances. I will be talking to a friend and as I do I scroll through my phone, if I see something that relates to the person or conversation at hand I tag them. Although I respond verbally this is like a separate add on to the conversation. It definitely complicates my view of the effect this issue has on me because although I may have come in late to the game, are these affects just now catching up to me?

When she talks about Trevor saying “Conversation? It died in 2009.” This made me wonder. What was the start of this new trend? Which app or piece of technology started the shift in culture? Also another thing to look at would be whether society just had a need for this type of social change or can it maybe be blamed on large company’s propaganda pushing us to buy their product and use it every second?

Turkle states how this wall of technology from face-to-face interaction has been harmful to our confidence building. I however disagree with this statement. I believe it actually boosts our confidence in some ways because of the instant gratification that texting and social media can bring. A problem does sometimes arise however when certain people have trouble transferring their confidence into real life resulting in almost a double sided personality.

This is one thing that has always scared and annoyed me about technology. It has the ability to mask people completely if they want and many don’t even realize the two faced actions and words they use.

The notes from this chapter are relatively expected. They draw from scholarly papers, academic journals, books, research studies, and even a blog. The blog is the only one out of them all that has less concrete scientifically accepted backing.

 

Leave a Reply

